Vegemite Spaghetti

vegemite spaghettiOK, don’t wig out. And for you haters, chill with the gagging noises. I get it. This may seem freaky to a lot of people. That’s why it is tagged in the “Adventures” category. But hear me out…

It is no secret that I have a rather healthy obsession with Nigella Lawson. She is the perfect woman in my opinion. I love her culinary point-of-view, I think she’s brilliant, incredibly witty, and her unapologetic take on cooking and food snobbery is so refreshing. So while vegging out watching old videos from “Nigella Bites” from the BBC on youTube (yes, that is how I spend most of my free, not cooking time), I came across her recipe for marmite spaghetti. I was equally intrigued and frightened. And since I am a huge fan of Vegemite and proud of my Aussie heritage I was absolutely compelled to  make it.

The final result? Caa-raaazy goodness! It’s a bit salty, velvety and completely comforting. Like a little hug served in a bowl. I realize that I may have such a fondness for it because my sense-memory of Vegemite reminds me of being a kid. That coupled with the fact that I rarely eat pasta (I can’t be trusted around it–I lose all sense of serving-size and eat like I am training for the Ironman Triathalon), it was a real treat! Since you make, well, more like assemble, the sauce while the pasta is cooking, it’s ready in about 11 minutes.

To ease the potential feelings of eater’s remorse (yes… I get eater’s remorse; like some people get buyer’s remorse after purchasing big ticket items), I did a few things differently than Nigella’s recipe. First, I only cooked one serving of pasta. That would be 1/8th of a box. I know me… if I cooked more than that, I’d have eaten more than a serving for sure. Secondly, instead of using heaps of butter, I used Brummel & Brown Yogurt Spread. I did not, however, skimp on the Parmesan.

Ingredients:

1/8th box of spaghetti

1t Vegemite

2T Brummel & Brown Yogurt Spread

Parmesan to taste

Steps:

1. Bring a big pot of salted water to the boil. And to quote Nigella, “it should be as salty as the Mediterranean.” (I’ve been in the Mediterranean, but I resisted tasting it. So guestimate about a nice handful would result in a Mediterranean-like salt profile.) Chuck your spaghetti in and cook according to the directions on the package.

2. Meanwhile, in a deep skillet, melt the yogurt spread and stir in your Vegemite over medium heat. I tried doing it with the pictured spoon above, but my ADD kicked in and I grabbed a whisk. Actually, it’s a Nigella Lawson Bliss whisk, come to think of it…

I know. It’s horrifying. To be honest, I almost aborted the mission at this stage, and I don’t know why… I love Vegemite. I love butter. I love pasta. But something about this amalgamation sent my stomach a-flutter. But take my advice, and stand your culinary-ground! It’s worth it!

3. Add your cooked pasta to the skillet.

You’ll notice it looks yellow and wet. Well, the yellow is because I was using artificial light and photographing this with my iPhone. The wet is because I added a healthy splash of the pasta cooking water. It helps with the sauce thicken. I know it may seem counter-intuitive, but trust me on this.

4. Add your preferred amount of parmesan. Then toss/stir/mix/whatever to combine it all. Do this for a couple of minutes and the sauce will be velvety and creamy.

5. Plate it up and top it with a little more parmesan. Muster up your courage if you are feeling hesitant at this point and dig in!

Honestly, this is my new go-to cravings pasta dish. By the end of the bowl I was literally trying to scoop out the remaining sauce from the bottom with my bare fingers and practically gnawing them off like some savage wolf… or dingo? Too far. I know.

Enjoy!


One Comment on “Vegemite Spaghetti”

  1. andrealigon355 says:

    Seriously…I can’t wait to make this…and I read this while at work and laughed out loud and the dingo part. BTW I totally miss Sunday Nigella’s Feast couch dates.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers