Kitchen Forager’s Salad: Transitional Raw Diet Food


I love me a salad. I am pretty famous for raiding the fridge and just throwing a bunch of veggies in a bowl. The only rule I limit myself to is to try to balance as many different flavors, textures and colors as possible. This salad just came together because someone in my office was nice enough to give me a big ‘ole cucumber (that what she said…). I really do love veggies and fruit, and am not a big fan of dressings, usually. I like tasting each individual component. I rarely use more then some kind of citrus or vinegar on a salad. This particular concoction has creamy avocado tossed with fresh lemon juice (to keep it from browning and to add a nice acidity), that kind of creates a light, creamy dressing that coats everything beautifully. (Yeah, I said “beautifully”.)

I’ve been raw (as in the diet)  before and I truly love it. It makes you feel clean and energized. It’s something I try to do sporadically for any given amount of time to switch things up a bit. This recipe is a good transitional raw food diet meal. It’s totally hearty, packed with tons of flavor and protein, and it has avocado in it! Avocado is probably my favorite fruit (I have so many immature jokes rattling around my skull right now, but I’ll resist). Obviously, it’s not raw because of the black beans, and technically, probably not the chili flakes either, but it’s a great introduction to a raw vegan lifestyle. I recommend everyone try going raw for a couple weeks.You’ll be amazed at how great you feel! There will definitely be more vegan and raw recipes coming up soon.

Ingredients:
2 medium cucumbers (seeded and diced–peeled, if you’re so inclined)
1 summer squash (seeded and diced)
2 tomatoes (seeded and diced)
1 medium avocado (diced)
1 can of black beans (drained)
Juice of 1 lemon
salt (to taste)
cumin (to taste)
red chili flakes (to taste)
basil

Procedure:
1. In a medium sized bowl, combine the diced avocado with the juice of one lemon. sprinkle a pinch of salt over and toss gently to coat the avocado. This will keep the avocado from browning.

2. In a large bowl combine all the other ingredients and gently toss all together. Tear in the basil and serve!

3. Feel good about it!

Nutritional information: This could easily serve 4-6 people, depending on whether or not it’s a main or side dish. This actually would be awesome as a vegan taco!
Entire Recipe: (Approx) Calories: 821   Fat: 33   Carbohydrates: 123   Protein: 37.8
1/4th Recipe: (Approx) Calories: 205.25   Fat: 8.25   Carbohydrates: 30.75   Protein: 9.45

2 Comments on “Kitchen Forager’s Salad: Transitional Raw Diet Food”

  1. I cannot wait to make this! I was totally wanting it when I saw it on @FoodieJs earlier.

  2. Elka Taylor says:

    Looks beautiful AND delicious:)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers