Chia Green-Monster Smoothie

I’ll be the first to admit, I was late catching on to this Green Monster Movement. I stumbled across the website Oh She Glows while trying to some smoothie-inspiration and  more ways to get greens into my diet (btw, if you’re not familiar with Oh She Glows or the author, Angela Liddon… you should be. Her site is full of beautiful vegan recipes and inspiration). She is the genius behind the Green Monster Movement, which started (I believe) from a recipe from her site, and has grown into it’s own phenomenon.

Here is what I try to start my day with every morning. It’s so delicious and satisfying, and the physical benefits have been awesome! I know the bright green color may be a little off-putting to some people (I personally love anything green), and the idea of drinking a smoothie with 3+ cups of spinach in it may seem odd at first, but trust me, it’s delicious and tastes nothing like spinach. My personalized version of Angela Liddon’s delicious recipe is a little sweet, full of anti-oxidants like beta-carotene (which I’ve read fights cataracts and battles heart-disease and cancer), vitamin C & E, as well as potassium and fiber. But what sold me is the phytochemicals in this. I read somewhere that it helps with aging, so I was sold. Health benefits aside, I was eager to see the effects on my skin and energy. I honestly can say there is a huge difference in both. Not only has my skin never been healthier, I have heaps of energy. And besides,  there’s something empowering about drinking down a smoothie with spinach and chia seeds (one of my favorite super foods) first thing in the morning. It feels good and it’s great way to start your day of great decision-making. Each morning is a fresh start, right?

I implore you, give it a week. The first time you taste it, you ‘ll love it. After drinking it a week, you’ll most-likely notice an energy increase and your skin will thank you for it (and so will your guts… but I’ll keep it classy and not go there right now).

And again, check out Oh She Glows and Angela’s amazing work. She’s so talented and inspiring. And all her recipes are amazing.

Oh, one final thing… I’m not a dietician, or a nutritionist. This is all my personal point of view.

Ingredients:
3C of baby spinach (if you can buy local, do so)
1C almond milk
1 medium frozen banana (it doesn’t have to be frozen, it just makes for a colder smoothie)
1T of milled chia seeds (not whole, make sure they’re milled or else your body won’t be able to digest them)
1T of almond butter

Directions:
1. Put everything in a blender and blend until smooth.
2. Taste and decide if it needs a few cubes of ice or sweetener (see tips below)

Serves 1: Approximately 331 calories & 12g of fat 

Tips:
-If you need a little sweetener, try chucking in a cored apple or adding a little local honey. The local honey will help battle some allergies (I’ve heard… I really have no allergies, but then again, I do eat local honey. Hmm… maybe that’s why).
-If time allows, try not to only drink this on-the-go. Although it travels very well, I think it’s important to take a moment for yourself at the beginning of your day and collect yourself. This is an act of doing something healthy for yourself, treating your body right. Sit down and take a few moments and enjoy it. 
-You can make a double batch, but I suggest doing so only if you are sharing with a friend. It will keep in the fridge just fine (sometimes it’ll settle a bit), but I think it tastes best right out of the blender.  

One Comment on “Chia Green-Monster Smoothie”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers