G’Day Sunshine Juice

photo 3

So it’s been a minute since I’ve blogged. I admit my focus has been a little scattered the past few months, and part of getting shiznit back together was to get my health and mental space back up to par. So, in addition to reinstating (again!) a workout regimen, I’ve returned to eating a clean, high raw-diet as well as drinking a lot of smoothies and juices. More importantly, I’ve inspired my parents and my grandmother to start adding fresh juices and some low-fat, raw foods into their diet as well. So with that extra, super-important family accountability, I thought that I would start posting again.

This is one of my favorite juices in the morning. It’s crisp and fresh, sweet and tart. It packs a huge nutritional blast and enough zing to get you buzzing.

G’Day Sunshine Juice
1 large pomelo, peeled (or substitute with a red ruby grapefruit)
4-6 large oranges, peeled (depending on the sweetness of them, you may want more)
1 small  organic lemon with peel

Instructions
1. Peel the pomelo (or red ruby grapefruit) and oranges. I prefer using a knife and a cutting board for this. It’s quicker and you don’t have as much pith from the fruit to deal with. The organic lemon you can leave whole. It adds a nice zing from the essential oils of the rind. But if you’re not sure if you’ll like the zing, start with inly peeling half of the lemon. Alternatively, if you don’t have an organic lemon, just use a regular one but peel it. You don’t want the chemicals that are usually on the outside of the fruit to get into your juice.*
2. Run through your juicer (alternatively, you can blend all of this in a blender and strain through a cheese cloth). Taste and adjust as needed. You may want it a bit sweeter, if so, add another orange.
3. Pour over ice (if you want) and enjoy!

*Notes: As a rule of thumb, and as a product of over-educating myself with conspiracy theory articles and exposé-type documentaries, I never juice anything with the peel on that isn’t organic. That’s just one of my many ticks, so it’s also my advice. Organic groceries are more expensive, so if you don’t have the budget to buy organic (and who does all the time?) just make sure you wash your fruits and veggies really well and peel them before incorporating them into a juice or raw-food dish.

Leave a Reply

